Anniversary Gala

Hylton Center 12th Anniversary Gala
April 29 and April 30, 2022

Honoring Lovey Hammel and Denise McPhail

The Hylton Center’s many artistic performances, arts education programs, Veterans and the Arts Initiative, and outreach initiatives, and the Hylton Center’s endowment, ensuring artistic excellence in the performances and programs we offer.

Friday, April 29, 2022
6:00pm Reception and Silent Auction
7:30pm Dinner, Live Auction, Honoree Tribute, and Raise Your Paddle

Saturday, April 30th, 2022
8:00pm Concert by Leslie Odom, Jr.
9:30pm Dessert Reception (for Gold+ Sponsors)

All Levels of Sponsorship Now Available.  Individual tickets go on sale September 15.

For more information about Gala tickets or sponsorship opportunities, please contact:
Emily Robinson

Vaccination Policy

Beginning October 18, 2021, and until further notice, all attendees at indoor events at the Hylton Performing Arts Center must present proof of vaccination against COVID-19 OR show a negative COVID-19 test result. Face coverings are required indoors for patrons ages two and up. Requirements for entry are subject to change. Read the full policy.

Highlights from the Celebration of the Arts Alliance – May 6, 2021

In light of the ongoing pandemic, the Hylton Center was pleased to host the first ever “Celebration of the Arts Alliance” on May 6, 2021. The evening raised funds to support members of the Arts Alliance through the Senator Charles J. Colgan Community Arts Benefit Fund. Learn more about the evening.


The Hylton Center thanks our past honorees for their dedication to and support of the arts in our community:

  • 11th Anniversary: Celebration of the Arts Alliance
  • 10th Anniversary Gala: Odin, Feldman, and Pittleman
  • 9th Anniversary Gala: Buchanan Partners and Nancy Hersch Ingram
  • 8th Anniversary Gala: Julie and Buck Waters
  • 7th Anniversary Gala: Mary and Hans Postma
  • 6th Anniversary Gala: NOVEC and Sally Lay
  • 5th Anniversary Gala: Novant Health UVA Health System and Dean William Reeder
  • 4th Anniversary Gala: Didlake, John O. Gregory, and Carol Merchant Kirby
  • 3rd Anniversary Gala: Dr. Randall Edwards, Dr. Marvin L. Gillum (in memorium), and the Honorable Kathleen K. Seefeldt
  • 2nd Anniversary Gala: Alan C. Merten and Sally L. Merten
  • 1st Anniversary Gala: Senator Charles J. Colgan